top of page

Annual Spirit of Community Awards

Presented by Scottsdale Leadership

Scottsdale Leadership is proud to present these three prestigeous awards each year.  They honor members of our community, our alumni and our youth,  for their outstanding community mindedness and service.

Join us for the

2023 Scottsdale Leadership

Annual Spirit of Community Awards Luncheon

"Together We Grow"

Friday, December 8th, 2023

at the Fairmont Scottsdale Princess Resort

Leaves Right Trsp.png
Leaves Right Trsp_edited.png
Award Lunch - Joanna_Someone_Lee Ann.JPG
Award Lunch - Awards_edited.jpg
Award Lunch - Hodges Ribbons.JPG
Award Lunch - Pouring Champagne.JPG

Drinkwater Leadership Award

The Drinkwater Community Leadership Award reminds us that many people who knew Herb Drinkwater often referred to him as “Mr. Scottsdale”. No matter whom he spoke with, he had a broad smile, a warm demeanor, a friendly handshake, and gusto for life as extraordinary as an Arizona sunrise. The Honorable Herb Drinkwater was fearless. With business cards in hand, he was always willing to introduce Scottsdale to people who may be interested or willing to move their business to Scottsdale. He served more than 25 years as Scottsdale’s Mayor and as a City Council member. Herb is remembered as a friend to everyone; as mayor, his approval rating was more than 90%! It is because of Herb’s purposeful living and positive intent for the community he loved, that Scottsdale Leadership honors a community leader with the Drinkwater Leadership Award each year.

Hodges Alumni Achievement Award

The Hodges Alumni Achievement Award honors a Scottsdale Leadership alumni who demonstrate the passion and commitment Frank Hodges had for his community. As an Assistant Fire Chief with Rural Metro and a Class 1 alumnus of Scottsdale Leadership, Frank’s dedication to the people of Scottsdale knew no boundaries. His efforts were tireless. Work was never work to Frank as he simply found great satisfaction as a firefighter and by helping and being involved with the people of his community. Frank welcomed the new as an old friend and embraced diversity and inclusion. Frank’s legacy lives on through the lives he touched. Scottsdale Leadership honors his life, spirit, and dedication through this annual Alumni Achievement Award.

Jenkins Youth Leadership Award

The Jenkins Youth Leadership Award honors William C. (Bill) Jenkins. As a 29-year Scottsdale High School teacher, Bill worked tirelessly for his students in the Social Sciences department and as their student government advisor. As Scottsdale’s Mayor from 1974 - 1980, Bill took Scottsdale through rapid growth and through a recession. His accomplishments were many and included building the first Scottsdale Senior Center, as well as completing the City Hall, Vista del Camino, and Indian Bend Wash Greenbelt projects. Bill was a classic example of an unassuming, genuine, community-minded man. Awarding of the Jenkins Youth Leadership Award includes a $2,000 scholarship.

We are also proud to honor an incoming class participant each year with a tuition scholarship.

Dr. Art DeCabooter Scholarship Award

The Dr. Art DeCabooter Scholarship Award provides a full-tuition scholarship to a worthy incoming Scottsdale Leadership class participant and is reflective of how many people knew Art DeCabooter as a true servant leader. He continuously served Scottsdale in dozens of civic leadership positions since arriving in Scottsdale in 1978 as President of Scottsdale Community college, serving in that position for 30 years. Art was the catalyst from the beginning of the “Save the McDowells” movement resulting in the establishing of the McDowell Sonoran Preserve. His chairing of the Preserve Commission resulted in the preservation of over 20,000 acres of pristine Scottsdale desert land. Dr. DeCabooter was the key voice in helping Scottsdale’s business and development communities recognize the value and the role of the city’s natural landscape in its economic viability and attractiveness as a business location. His local and state awards are numerous and most cite his dedication to the environment, education, and community collaboration

Spirit of Community Luncheon Sponsors.jpg

Scottsdale Leadership
Annual Spirit of Community Awards

Past Winners

2022-Christine Kovach

2021 - Raoul Zubia, Class XXII

2020 - Lisa Randall, Class XXVIII

2019 - Jim Ford, Class VIII

2018 - Suzanne Walden Wells, Class XVI

2017 - Marion Kelly, Class XVII

2016 - Dennis Robbins, Class VII

2015 - Dr. Frances Mills-Yerger, Class XVI

2014 - Todd Hornback, Class XIII

2013 - Doreen Reinke, Class XVII

2012 - Randy Nussbaum, Class IV

2011 - Mark Eberle, Class VI

2010 - Abbie Fink, Class XVII

             -  Hope Ozer, Class III

2009 - Linda Milhaven, Class VIII

2008 - Kurt M. Brueckner, Class II

2007 - Tina Brown, Class XV

              -  Melinda Gulick, Class XIV

2006 - Ted Tyler, Class XVI

2005 - Craig Miller, Class VII

2004 - Katherine Cecala, Class XII

2003 - Sheri Statt Bercaw, Class II

2002 - Joan Fudala, Class IX

2001 - Karl Keierleber, Class VI

2000 - Cindy Slick, Class IV

1999 - Robert Howard, Jr., Class I

1998 - Carla, Class VII

1997 - Carolyn Allen, Class I

1996 - Diana M. Smith, Class III

1995 - Virginia Korte, Class III

1994 - Eileen Rogers, Class II

1993 - Douglas Sydnor, Class II

1992 - Elisa Brancati, Class IV

              - Wendy Springborn, Class V

1991 - Tom Silverman, Class I

Hodges-Recipients Header.png
Drinkwater-Recipients Header.png

2022-Jack Miller

2021 - Don Carson

2020 -Janie Ellis

2019 - Bill Walton

2018 - Diane Cusack

2017 - Charlie Smith

2016 - Tom Sadvary

2015 - The Honorable Mary Manross

2014 - Bill Schrader

2013 - Gary Shapiro

2012 - Mary King

2011 - Rachel Sacco

2010 - Betty Drake

2009 - Marc Miller

2008 - William “Bill” Soderquist

2007 - Tim Bray

2006 - William “Bill” Mack

2005 - Sam Campana

2004 - Don Ruff

2003 - Paul R. Messinger

2002 - William “Bill” Jenkins

2001 - Marion Saba

2000 - Frances Young

1999 - Art DeCabooter, Ph. D.

1998 - Jim Bruner

Jenkins-Recipients Header.png

2022-Giselle Rojas Guzman

2021- Zack Okun

2020 - Natalie Foster

2019 - Christopher Griffin

2018 - Adway Gopakumar

2017 - Rachel Zoneraich

2016 - Jordyn Blew

2015 - Grace Taskinsoy

2014 - Sydney A. Allen

2013 - Karlene D. McCauley

2012 - Sage Knapp

2011 - Melissa Conrad

2010 - Noelle Rabiah

2009 - Benjamin Johnson

2008 - Theresa Kyte

2007 - Kaylie Marsh

2006 - Janelle Brown

2005 - JiaQi Bao & Maxwell Kanter

2004 - Tyler Parafinik

2003 - Brandon Curtis

bottom of page